Seminar: Scalable High-Throughput mm-Wave “Wireless Fiber” Systems

Amin Arbabian
Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering
Stanford University
Wednesday, October 18th 11am / IEMN Amphitheater

Commercial mm-wave systems are addressing a variety of applications in communication and radar. However, scaling of these systems to larger throughputs and spatial coverage is limited by hardware constraints. This work explores challenges in the silicon integration of scalable high-throughput “Wireless Fiber’’ links that use the spatial and spectral degrees of freedom by exploiting multiplexing in LoS MIMO environments and at extremely high bandwidths. We examine tradeoffs in the partitioning of functionality between the transmitter and receiver as well as the analog and digital domains and investigate a new scalable analog processing architecture for the receiver network. The design of a 4×4 160 Gbps system will be discussed. In addition to this system, we will also present an energy-efficient 130GHz 12.5Gbps OOK system operating with 1.55pJ/bit/m at >5m range. Mm-wave plastic dielectric waveguides for high-speed links and signal distribution in mm-wave systems will also be discussed.

Short Bio:
Amin Arbabian received his Ph.D. degree in EECS from UC Berkeley in 2011 and in 2012 joined Stanford University, as an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering. His research interests are in mm-wave and high-frequency circuits and systems, imaging technologies, and ultra-low power sensors and implantable devices. Prof. Arbabian currently serves on the steering committee of RFIC, the technical program committees of RFIC and ESSCIRC, and as associate editor of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Letters (SSC-L) and the IEEE Journal of Electromagnetics, RF and Microwaves in Medicine and Biology (J-ERM). He is the recipient or co-recipient of the 2016 Stanford University Tau Beta Pi Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, 2015 NSF CAREER award, 2014 DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA) including the Director’s Fellowship in 2016, 2013 Hellman faculty scholarship, and best paper awards from several conferences including ISSCC (2010), VLSI Circuits (2014), RFIC symposium (2nd place, 2008 and 2011), ICUWB (2013), PIERS (2015), and the MTT-S BioWireless symposium (2016).